Home

dc

Darenclin Vito Bosea – an unusual name, and we call her DC for short. It seemed  only yesterday when I last saw her in class. There she was, peeping in  if I was looking…..

I watched her as she opened her notes and acted like it was a most natural thing to be late. I called her attention, and she got startled. She meekly said, “Ma’am, I was late since I am now living in Makati(about 40 km away) because of work.”

I remember telling her, that she had to choose – work or her studies? She promised not to be late again. I can’t say that she made good with that promise, since I saw her came in late a few more times. When she graduated, she was happy that school was finally over and she had all the time to continue working.

I no longer saw her in the last two years. All I knew was that she worked continuously right after graduation. I saw her once in a while on Facebook(FB), and I always called her attention whenever she posted quotations without attrition. I again reprimanded her a few months ago, when I saw another post of hers without attrition.

She never minded me when I blasted on her posts online. She probably knew that I was just being true to form. I never noticed her again on FB, but like my other students, I thought that she must have gone on her merry ways while earning tons of money, like her classmates.

Today, I was shocked to read on FB that she was murdered by an unknown assailant on her way home. There was an attempt to rape her, but she fought back – hence, she was killed. It is such a waste that such a young girl, who is so full of promise could have her life snapped away at a click of a finger.

Her body was found hanging from the barbwire fence inside the subdivision where she lived. It is a most atrocious way of ending such a young life.

To my student, Darenclin Vito Bosea, sleep in God’s cradle my child. You are now home, where the angels sing their glorious praises to be with you.

writer_csm

Artikulo 49-Musings from the Inang Bayan
Copyright © 2014 CSMiravite

 

Leave a Reply

